Locational Liberty: Alternatives to Incarceration

Oh, give me land, lots of land, under starry skies above
Don’t fence me in
Let me ride thru the wide-open country that I love
Don’t fence me in
Let me be by myself in the evening breeze
Listen to the murmur of the cottonwood trees
Send me off forever, but I ask you please
Don’t fence me in. – Cole Porter

Joe Francica at All Points Blog asks if we are “over it yet” concerning location privacy. I think attention will gradually shift from location privacy to location liberty.

Schools
Schools are tracking students, scanning their active RFIDs as they move through the halls and as they board and alight from the bus. No child is left behind.

Panopticon

Panopticon blueprint by Jeremy Bentham, 1791


Panopticons Without Prisons
As prisons fill up, judges will be releasing selected offenders where they’ll be tracked by GPS. Do a google search for “Alternatives to Incarceration” and GPS to see what I mean. 1 in 100 US adults is in prison according to the NYT. Like a lot of people, I don’t have a problem with early release of convicted DWI offenders – as long as they can be closely monitored.

Neighborhoods
Soon home buyers will realize keycoded gates provide little protection, and pay a premium to to live in communities where residents are required to wear RFID chips. When a video camera spots a person without sensing an RFID signal, alerts and images will be sent to the appropriate authorities. In essence what exists now in toll roads will expand to include neighborhoods. The revolution will not be televised – but it will be on streaming video.

I can’t say I look forward to this revolution, kinda makes me want to go backpacking in Sweden, where trespassing is not a crime.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

