Zillow Inks Deal with Newspapers

subprime domino effect
Zillow has made an agreement with 282 newspapers to list real estate classifieds.

How might this work exactly? For example, real estate advertisers who currently buy classified listings in their local paper will be able to choose to have their listings and open house information shown on Zillow. Not only will this contribute to the number of for-sale listings buyers can browse on our site, but also has the potential to create an incredibly comprehensive online source of open house information, by locality. And this is just the beginning; we have lots of other content-sharing ideas that we’re eager to start digging into.

I wonder if better market knowledge will exacerbate the subprime meltdown by forming a tighter positive feedback loop. Once people know how many subprime loans are in a neighborhood, I bet they would avoid buying a house there. Lower demand means lower prices. Once market value falls below the loan amount, the assets of banks begin to suffer, causing writeoffs … like the one just taken by Bank of America.

I’ve always liked Zillow’s heatmaps. I just wish I could scale the colorramp of the heatmap to make it based on numbers that fall within my current mapextent.

Speaking of real estate, an Austin realtor has blogged about a subprime loan map published by the New York times. Just glancing at the map, I get the feelling rural areas can be blamed for the subprime lending crises. To be more balanced, a map showing dollar amount of subprime loans by county is needed. Maybe zillow will support that.

2 comments so far

  1. Matt Priour on

    I just wish I could scale the colorramp of the heatmap to make it based on numbers that fall within my current mapextent.

    Check out RE Mapper (http://www.remapper.com). I developed the map functions that go into driving the data display portion of that map. It changes to scale to your view extent & the category of data you have selected. Trust me it was not an easy feat to get that working in a performant manner.

  2. Kirk on

    Hi Matt –

    Looks good, after registering (free) I’m able to see a rainbow of colors for San Antonio similar to the rainbow for San Jose – but for quite different numbers of course. Does it do heatmaps? The only rescaling heatmaps I’ve seen are at geocommons … e.g. http://www.geocommons.com/workspace/show/2887 . I wonder if zillow’s API would allow similar heatmap mashups.

    Kirk


Leave a Reply

