Mapping, DogFooding and Crowdsourcing

I finished the first day of ESRI’s instructor led training “Developing Applications with ArcGIS Server Using the Microsoft .NET Framework“.

Given the recent buzz about crowdsourcing, I was surprised to find no module in the courseware for editing. Isn’t simple map editing fundamental to crowdsourcing? Can ArcGIS Server even support crowdsourcing?

Normally I don’t think of dog food at lunch time, but today was different.
alpo.gif
I heard the term was inspired by Lorne Green’s Alpo commercials where he’d say something like “it tastes so good, I even feed it to my own dogs!” In this context, I’m suggesting DogFooding as a means for ESRI to test its own technology internally.

So instead of handing out a rather lame map of nearby restaurants, ESRI should provide a crowdsourced web map edited by students/restaurant critics. This should be a simple start.

In that spirit, I have prepared this map of places within walking distance of ESRI’s San Antonio office where one may eat for free.

As a refinement, I’d like to be able to SMS from my cell phone in Costco “excellent kashi samples on aisle 312″, and have it added to my server. Get it while its hot.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

