Migrating WordPress to WordPress, Adding ArcGIS References

I’ve moved to a new blog hosting site. Yahoo Small Business webhosting does not allow me to edit my .htaccess. My feed to planetgs is broken, James suggested editing my .htaccess file, but Yahoo does not allow this. I’m not the only one to have this problem.

Anyway, back to GIS.

Adding References

I really like being able to right click on References in VS and choose “Add ArcGIS Reference…” – this is much faster than “Add Reference…”.

I now wish ESRI would include a checkbox on the “Add ArcGIS Reference” dialog saying “add using statement”. If this is checked then it would add a “using” statement at the top of my current document.

Alternatively, in the code editor window, I would like to be able to simply highlight one or more “using” statements, right click and choose “Add References for these” (or something like that). This would allow me to quickly add references to the references folder for each using statement in my source code.

Realtor GeoRSS

While I’m wishing for things, why hasn’t someone like www.realtor.com developed a web app to let me draw polygons around specific areas on the map and get notified when new listings come in that fall within my polygons? Shouldn’t this be simple with GeoRSS?

Concrete LBS

Another location based service: Let’s say I want a slab poured in my back yard. I’ve got the forms all laid out but am in no great hurry to get it poured. I’m willing to wait if the price is right. Let’s also say there’s a cement concrete truck stuck in traffic near my house. I’ve heard its a big problem when concrete is not poured once it starts thickening. The driver could get a listing of nearby slab requests and come pour my slab, at a discount of course.

3 comments so far

  1. Morten on

    “now wish ESRI would include a checkbox on the “Add ArcGIS Reference” dialog saying “add using statement”. If this is checked then it would add a “using” statement at the top of my current document”

    An assembly usually contains several namespaces, and adding all using statements is overkill and might even cause name collisions.
    VS.NET 2005 already have some great tools to help you out. Try the following:
    1. Add a reference to the ESRI assembly containing Geometry.
    2. Type the word “Point” somewhere in your class.
    3. Right click point and select “Resolve…”.
    From the context menu you can choose to either add a using statement or prefix the Point class with the nessesary namespace.
    If you really pay attention, you will see a small red icon just below the un-prefixed class-name you just typed if it can be resolved into something.

  2. Softwhere on

    Kirk,

    This may get you close to what you’re looking for:
    1. from the Add ArcGIS Reference dialog, click the namespaces tab.
    2. In the “Available …Namespaces” box, click the common namespaces you’ll be using often. Click Finish to close the dialog.
    3. Create a new class
    4. right click in the code and choose “insert ArcGIS Using Directives”.

    This will insert the using directives at the top of the class for the namespaces you checked. Note that it does not check that the namespaces aren’t already added.

    Pretty handy.

  3. kirkktx on

    Hi Morten & Softwhere –
    Thanks for the feedback. These are certainly useful for several scenarios, I wasn’t aware of these features. I still would like something for these two particular scenarios.

    1) typing along in a method and need a reference to something within a namespace to which I do not have a reference. I would like to quickly:
    a) add a reference to the assembly in which the namespace is located
    and
    b) add a using statement at the top of the current document.

    2) I’ve created a new class, and have cut & pasted the contents of the class into a document. I would like to highlight all the namespaces in the using statements and quickly add references to all the assemblies needed.

    These requirements are not peculiar to GIS, so maybe there are some tools out that meet these requirements, I should probably check.

    Regards,
    Kirk


Leave a Reply

