ArcGIS Server in an Elastic Compute Cloud

I’m just trying to think through what it would take to deploy ArcGIS Server to Amazon’s Elastic Compute Cloud.

The hard part appears to be building the AMI. As far as I can tell the AMI is similar to a VMWare virtual machine.

In addition to providing a sensible licensing model for this, it would be nice if ESRI would provide a “starter” AMI with all the necessary software loaded, then I could just load my customizations and data on top of that, and push it into the cloud.

The beauty of the cloud concept is its scalability. I wonder how tricky it would be to add new SOC machines to the cloud. For something like an emergency management system scalability is hard. Typically load would be very low, until something like a hurricane comes along.

Maybe I’m thinking wrong on an emergency mgmt system … maybe what is needed is a lot of small focused apps that mash together feeds following the Common Alerting Protocol.

3 comments so far

  1. Steven Citron-Pousty on

    Have you thought about taking server for solaris to the Sun GRID. I haven’t looked into it too much and I am not sure if it suited for the task but it sounds mighty interesting…

  2. Administrator on

    Hey Steven –

    Thanks for the info, I hadn’t heard about this Sun Grid service.

    Here’s the differences I see:
    Grid requires Java (?), EC2 can be any language.

    Grid is $1/hr, EC2 is $0.10/hr.

    Also looks like Intel & AMD are starting to battle over virtualization.
    http://enterprise.amd.com/us-en/Solutions/Consolidation/virtualization.aspx
    http://www.intel.com/technology/virtualization/index.htm
    So I guess this means the performance of virtual machines should improve.

    I expect Google will be answering EC2 with a competing product. Either way, I just hope ESRI anticipates this and comes up with a licensing strategy.

    Kirk

  3. Alexandru Ionica on

    Well. think of it as just installing on a normal computer and after that with the help of the ami tools (provided by amazon) you can build your image in 10 minutes max.
    Install your favourite distro (or Redhat if you want support from Arcgis) and bundle the image. For RedHat i think it will work flawless as the ami tools are made to work without a problem on fedora.
    I played a bit with Elastic Compute Cloud and it’s ok for any mainstream distro from my point of view.


Leave a Reply

